Tamil Nadu News Wrap (July 17)

Chennai, July 17 (tamilnaducentral): Around 50 Tamil Nadu farmers led by P Ayyakannu have relaunched their protest in New Delhi holding a march from Nizamuddin railway station to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s residence on the Lok Kalyan Marg. The protesters held demonstration outside Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s residence raising their demands, ahead of the Monsoon Session of Parliament scheduled to begin today.

Former Karnataka Chief Minister Kumaraswamy has made a shocking revelation that jail officials were paid Rs 10 lakh as bribe by Sasikala Natarajan for exclusive amenities. Bribes in the range of Rs 10,000- 50,000 have also been collected from every guest she received at the Bengaluru jail, say sources. Amidst this, D Roopa, DIG  (prisons) has said that the CCTV footage that were in proof of undue favours made to Sasikala and the video she captured of Sasikala’s kitchen has been destroyed. 32 prisoners lodged in the same jail have been suddenly shifted.

DMK working president MK Stalin said we would know today whether party leader M Karunanidhi would vote in the Presidential poll, currently on.

When AIADMK is all fired up on actor Kamal Haasan’s criticism about the ruling government and its corrupt practices, opposition leader MK Stalin has come out in support of the actor saying that Kamal Haasan as a voter has every right to criticize the benami government. Meantime, AIADMK ministers are raising questions as to why Kamal Haasan was not so vocal when late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa was in power. Minister for municipal administration S P Velumani threatened to conduct an audit to find out if the actor Haasan had paid taxes for all his films.

Four Tamil fishermen from Jagadapattinam of Pudukottai district were arrested by the Lankan Naval forces today for fishing in their territorial waters.Their boats have also been seized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>